AN UNUSUAL VISIT TO THE PHYSICS UNIVERSITY LIBRARY

Today I had some free time and I was not sure what to do. Then I thought I could do something quite remarkable. To go to a University where Physics is taught!
So there I went although I arrived just 45 minutes before closing time.
The library was almost empty and I went directly to 52 ASTRONOMY. There were 5 shelves with each shelf made of shelves too. I was such in a hurry I could not read any book so I just looked at the covers and i wrote sone titles. If you have a free Physics library near you you are quite lucky at least to me today.
Some hours later I went to the website of the university and I searched in the catalog the books I saw in the shelves.
Once I have been at the library and just looked at the covers of the books it seems a bit ridiculous what I have done. But since I opened this blog I have been writing about books I found online and I just wonder sometimes what kind of books could be found at a University. Did they have many more book than I knew through the Internet.
Well, now I have a lot of confusion. I want to put here the books I saw but I need to put some order before. In the 524.8 there were about 150 books and some of them I knew! I wonder how many days should I stay at such a library to read a bit of the books I saw.

It is weird to visit a university in the middle of summer and with no classes and almost nobody. 

In any case I will try to put a list of the books I saw in the shelves.  Let me just mention some:

The cause and evolution of the universe : fact and myth in
modern astrophysics / John Auping.

Cosmological physics / J. A. Peacock. (I already knew!)

Cosmology / Steven Weinberg (I knew too. Steven Weinberg is very famous)

Cosmology : foundations and frontiers / Gene G. Byrd,
Arthur D. Chernin, Mauri J. Valtonen.

Conceptions of cosmos : from myths to the accelerating universe : a history of cosmology / Helge S. Kragh.

The universe and the atom / Don Lichtenberg, Indiana
University, Bloomington

 

 

Leave a comment