HAWKING AND PENROSE UNITED

Some weeks ago, after the death of Stephen Hawking om March 14th 2018 I looked at some of the general books written by Stephen Hawking. There was one of them that was written with Roger Penrose too and that was the way I got to know about Roger Penrose. I chose that book because I noticed that it contained equations and diagrams so it seemed to me more complete than other “basic” beautiful made books I had read by Hawking.

The truth is that during weeks I had tried to read the book but I almost got a headache each time I tried to read it. Sometimes I even wonder how on Earth Stephen Hawking could become so famous with such a difficult stuff.

Anyway finally I have looked at the book more carefully. Now I have the feeling I know a bit at least what was all about.

I leave you here with some vocabulary. If you get to know about this vocabulary maybe then you could read this book of both Hawking and Penrose with a more familiarity than me:

future frontier

Minkowsli space

Cauchy surface

global hyperbolicity

Raychaudhuri-Newman-Penrose equation

Einstein equation

weak energy equation

strong energy equation

singularity definition

theorems of singularity

Cauchy development

cosmic censorship

the second law of Black Holes mechanics

 

 

 

IP irreductible past

IF IRREDUCTIBLE FUTURE

FLRW

WEYL CURVATURE

 

 

YANG-MILLS

Hairless theorem

Minkowsli space (MINKOWSKI, the word I have learnt forever!!!!!!!)

Carter-Penrose diagram

Black Hole thermal radiation

Schwarzchild metric

Euclidian metric

tunnel effect

 

 

quantum field theory of QFT

Carter diagram

U unitary evolution

R  collapse of wave function

Hilbert space

dead cat

Schrödinger’s cat

gravitional field special because of casualty

 

integral of the path of quantum gravity

assimptotically euclidian metrics

compact metrics without a contour

Hartle and Hawking

Wheeler-De Witt equation

de Sitter Lorentzian metric

Euclidian metric

hot Big Bang

Escalar field

Schrödinger Equation

CPT

Weyl tensor

 

hypothesis of Weyl curvature

TWISTORS (Penrose)

Riemann spehere

 

 

black and white holes

history of the box

WICK ROTATION

Lorentzian metric

Euclidian metric

Phase space

non-contour proposal

Carter-Penrose diagram

 

Well, I do not know if these words may help you but when you read a difficult book I find nice that at least the words sound to me familiar … even if I do not understand them! it is a way to start for me.

Let me remind you that I also wrote about the book ROAD TO REALITY by ROGER PENROSE.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment