Is it right for Stephen Hawking to be buried next to Newton in Westminster Abbey?

Stephen Hawking dies. Some hours later I open this blog called SCHRODINGER THE CAT writing small things about what I read etc about Astrophysics and Cosmology.

If Stephen Hawking had not died some days ago I would have not opened this blog or at least not right now.

So when I read that Stephen Hawking is going to be buried next to Isaac Newton in Westminster Abbey maybe one may think that I would be quite in agreement with this decision.

But I have my doubts. As far as I know Stephen Hawking has an equation where General Relativity and Quantum Mechanics meet. The entropy of a black hole is a quarter of the area of the black hole in the simplest way. And we have the Hawking Radiation. I’ve been reading books by him and other books and Hawking is quite mentioned in connection with black holes.

Hawking seems to me very important in connection with black holes and Big Bang but i have the feeling that he may be buried in Westminster Abbey because he got very famous. So who should be buried in Westminster Abbey? Famous scientists?

In general Stephen Hawking seems to me amazing. Other people with his illness may have behaved as a black hole while he behaved more like the opposite, as a kind of Big Bang moving around the world and appearing in popular TV series.

After all, what’s the use to discover the secrets of the Universe if most of humans do not follow what is going on? In this aspect I feel that Stephen Hawking was wonderful for Astrophysics and Cosmology! A kind of light house for the common people.

But I imagine a lot of scientist around the world working hard and maybe feeling that maybe Stephen Hawking is giving too much importance.

Who knows, maybe people who has doubts about Stephen Hawking buried in Westminster Abbey should be happy too because at least there will be talk about the paper of science in society!

I have read that Isaac Newton was not a very friendly person and was at odds with Leibniz. So in Westminster Abbey we have buried him because of his fundamental role in Physics. In the case of Stephen Hawking I have the feeling that  both the man and the scientist will be remembered. A unique scientist.

Leave a comment